Back

japanese 先生 = core 10000?

So this Japanese Sensei app, it has audio for 4000 more sentences from the same source as smart.fm? (The CJK Institute or whatnot.) This sounds great, but it's a shame it's only for iDevices, I'll feel weird having such a huge, great resource limited that way. Is there no Windows version or equivalent (i.e. other people who've used the same source to produce audio... )? I had no idea this "Core 10,000" was in existence even for iOS devices. I'm still new to that stuff. Is there no way to like put the app material somewhere that isn't an iDevice?
Edited: 2011-01-20, 3:38 am
I think I tried this app before, I don't think it's SRS based, which doesn't make this app very useful, if I recall this app would ask multiple choice questions and put the same answer twice in the list. (Granted it was the free version which has less content.)

There might be a way to rip the content from it, but I'm not entirely sure, would probably involve some shady hacking expertise.
I use this app on my ipod touch.
It is the same content as core 4k+6k, which is licensed from the CJK Institute.
They added their own voice readings (from 3-4 voice actors).
I think it does some for of SRS and it does keep track of the number of times seen and times correctly chosen.

If you are looking for a real SRS, "Japanese" has an SRS system with selectable JLPT vocabulary. However, since you are wishing it was on other platforms, I am assuming you use android where both of these apps are not available.
See this thread for Holiday Countdown Deals (until Dec 15th)
JapanesePod101
brianobush Wrote:I use this app on my ipod touch.
They added their own voice readings (from 3-4 voice actors).
I think it does some for of SRS and it does keep track of the number of times seen and times correctly chosen.