Back

On the nature of "desu", "de" and "arimasu".

First I must apologize the formatting of this post, I'm posting from my cellphone.

I was reviewing my Japanese basics and I was pondering on a topic that I have always pondered since I started learning Japanese, that is the semantic nature of desu, by "semantic nature" of desu I mean what is going on in the native speakers head when they use desu or at least what should be going on according to the internal logic of the language.

So let's take a simple example:

Kore wa hon de su.

As far as I know that "de" particle is the particle that indicates that the preceding word is the predicate complement, and su is arimasu. I don't know if nowadays native speakers have lost that distinction and regard desu as a single entity but etimologicaly as far as I know what we have here is the particle de and the verb arimasu.

Now the big question is, what is the actual meaning of that verb arimasu, is it the same arimasu that means "to exist in a place", such as "Koko wa hon ga arimasu". Or does arimasu have a different meaning when it follows de, having the meaning of the verb "to be" as the books preach?

Let's analyse the two possibilities, if arimasu means "to be" when used within the copula then when the native speakers say:

Kore wa hon de su. 
They are thinking: As for this, as a book it is.

That doesn't make much sense to me, but the second option, if arimasu means "to exist in a place", as usual:

Kore wa hon de su.
Then the native speakers would be thinking: As for this, as a book it exists.

It is really mind bending but makes more sense logically, at least for me. If that is true however that means that the Japanese language doesn't have the verb to be(w*** t** f***)!!!
Edited: 2018-01-11, 1:15 pm
Edited: 2018-01-11, 2:28 pm