Back

Teaching English at a Rural Village in Japan

Hi there! My name is Lucas Assis and I'm a Brazilian student currently enrolled in a Computer Science bachelor's degree in Rio de Janeiro with a deep passion for Japanese culture. I'm fluent in English, and I have a Canadian high school diploma, so I believe that I'd be apt for teaching after taking a TEFL, which I plan to do once I graduate (around 2020).

I want to experience Japanese culture and people at a deeper level, so I thought that trying to apply for an ALT position in the countryside would be the best course of action. I'm also interested in becoming a Software Engineer, so I'd probably look into applying for job openings while I'm there, since most require that you live in Japan already.

Since I'm Brazilian, the JET Programme doesn't allow me to apply for an ALT position, only CIR, and since I don't speak a lick of Japanese and JET is extra rigorous here I don't think that I stand a chance. Another option would be to apply directly to the school, but I have no idea how to do that.

I like to plan things really ahead (contingency plans, like Batman), so that I can always try something else along the way, or chance plans entirely, so any help is greatly appreciated!

P.S.: I have dark brown hair, brown eyes, short stature and white skin, if a "foreign" appeance matters at all.
Edited: 2017-11-28, 9:32 pm
Just get an eikawai job in Tokyo and start applying to software engineering jobs immediately.

For every JET that stays in their small town for three years an ends up with amazing Japanese there are tons that burn out and just leave Japan or stay in their bubble and troll the internet for hours. The discipline to study Japanese and immerse yourself somehow is more important.