Back

Looking for feedback on my site about Japanese words / kanji history

Hi there!

My name is Romy and I am a Japanese teacher living in the USA.  I recently created a website with my husband about interesting Japanese words, their connotations, and their historical backgrounds.  Some Japanese words have very fun stories behind them, and I found that my students enjoyed learning these because the stories help them learn the words faster.  The website address is https://www.romysensei.com (please let me know if it does not work for you!)

I am posting here because we created this first version of our website and we are wondering what people would like to see on our site.  Do you think this site is interesting for Japanese students?  Is there anything you would like to change? Also, when you study words and kanji, what kinds of information are you looking for?

Any feedback is appreciated!  Thank you!
Hi romy!
I think your site is great, instant fav ^^. Can't wait to see it grows.
Design is great and mobile-friendly.
Having a short definition alongside the detailed story is a very nice touch. Exemple sentences are a must.
I like the idea of focusing on words which you cannot guess their meaning just by looking at their kanji.
Besides that I have nothing much to add. Maybe that it would be nice to have a way to display only words containing a same kanji so it would be easier to lookup for compounds.

When studying vocab, I mostly struggle with synonyms. I don't know if there is a better way to tell when to use such word or another besides looking at their kanji, exemple sentences or their japanese definition. When you look at a translation, you often end up with the same exact word...which sometimes doesn't make sense... like 展覧会・博覧会 or all the words meaning conference/meeting...

anyway good luck with your website!
Edited: 2017-10-16, 6:38 pm
(2017-10-16, 6:36 pm)pied2porc Wrote: Hi romy!
I think your site is great, instant fav ^^. Can't wait to see it grows.