Back

Japanese Language Study Log: Skullclutter

Hey all

Long time lurker, first time poster. I've really been enjoying the language learning log threads lately -  they're a great way to get motivated for a study session. I know most people logging are way more advanced than me, but as a beginner, I though it'd be useful (to me, if nobody else) to join in for the accountability and so I can look back later and see how far I've come.

Ultimate Goal:
I'm a web developer, and I've been working on branching out into game development. My goal is to be able to create translation patches for old games that were never localized, and I want to be able to read materials on game design and development written by japanese developers. And, of course, partake in any other japanese media that strikes my fancy.

Long-ish term goal:
I'm aiming to take the N3 exam December 2018. I won't quite be ready for the N4 this December, and I'm not sure if writing the N5 instead would be helpful. I'm also hoping that by then I'll be at a point where I can start an account on pixiv to post my game art and communicate with other artists as production practice.

Mid-term goal:
Finish Genki 1 & 2 and start working in sources like NHK Easy news, Watanoc, Yotsubato, etc.

Currrent Study Plan:
Grammar:
Genki 1 - textbook & workbook, creating custom anki deck as I go.
Genki 2 - textbook & workbook
Should finish these by mid-december at which point I'll be moving on to Tobira.
Currently 1/4 through chapter 5.

Vocab:
Core10K anki deck at 20 new cards per day
Currently at 79 mature, 96 young+learn

Kanji:
Just Genki so far. Planning on ordering KKLC.

Goal of the Week:
- I'm currently working on the textbook exercises for Chapter 5 grammar section, so this week's goal is to finish Chapter 5, both grammar & reading/writing, in both workbook & textbook.
- Keep up with Anki reviews
(2017-08-09, 11:43 am)Skullclutter Wrote: Long-ish term goal: