Back

Do you input notes from your hobby books into anki?

Quote:Please note that, this post is neither about language study, nor about the professional study related to our job or degree subject. It is about the book reading (not novel) that we read as a hobby, like I am a programmer, but I like reading philosophy and psychology books in my spare time.

The advantage is obviously that we can remember much more contents and key points of these books we read.

The downside is that we need to extract the key points from the book, input it into anki, and create cloze deletions…the whole process takes lots of time, even enough to read another book.

And the subtle and fuzzy is,

1. Even if without anki, we can still remember some key points of them, with the natural memory of our life. For example, I still remember the “Brain in a vat” mentioned in the book “the big question”, even though I've never opened this book for the second time since eight years ago. And for those materials that do not give us a strong impression, as long as we really understand it well, we maybe can remember it well, so although we can't actively RECALL them, however, once we encounter or discuss the relevant topics later, we can RECOGNIZE a large part of them, indicating that we still remember them in the unconscious. Is it enough to prove that anki is not so necessary for the material that we are interested in and often read about?
  2. There is a saying that, if a knowledge is useful, then it will be used many times in our life, and each time it is used is actually a natural review. If a knowledge cannot be used in our life for a very long time, which means cannot be reviewed in the use and must be reviewed by anki, it means that this knowledge is not THAT useful, so we don't have to remember it and don't need to use anki for it. Do you agree with it?

What do you think? Do you use anki to remember the main points of the hobby books you have read? Smile
Save
Save