Back

no new cards until +1 is <30

I "finished" RTK about ten years ago, but it was a bit of a lie. I rushed to the finish line and at the end I had an unsustainable structure built on half-baked stories (sometimes none at all). I let all of my work slowly slide out of my brain and have had many times where i felt like this technique was no good after all.

I have tried to start it up again from scratch many times over the years without finding a satisfactory method (sometimes trying to shoehorn readings in since i'm an intermediate to advanced student otherwise). This time feels different, here's the strategy I'm using.

1) add a chapter (including all rtk supplement characters for that chapter, if any)
2) review 1st thing every morning (while drinking the morning koohii)
2) keep going until the 1+ stack is 30 cards or less.
3) add another chapter.

that's it. (well, one minor addition, i am adding a bit of reading info to the title in case i already know the character in connection with a japanese word. i'm also adding a bit of clarifying info to the card keywords in cases where they are so similar that i don't feel there is value in trying to remember which is which (town vs village, angling vs. fishing etc.))

the <30 card limit for advancement on the 1+ stack prevents me from adding new cards when I already have enough cards on my plate that need attention (reworked stories, etc.).

the limit also keeps me from ever feeling too discouraged because the cards that don't need a lot of work sail on up to the other stacks and it never feels like i have too many failed.

anyways, hope that is of help to anyone else.
(2017-08-05, 6:21 pm)wasurenaide Wrote: ...I had an unsustainable structure built on half-baked stories (sometimes none at all).