Back

Finished RTK at the end of 2014

Hello there

Some years ago, I decided to learn japanese. In december the twenty-sixth, twenty fourteen, eleven in the evening, I wrote the message http://forum.koohii.com/thread-95-post-2...#pid216269:

Quote:I began in august 2013 and finished today, 26. december 2014. I made 2200 flashcards.

*happy*

Now, more than two years later, I am still learning japanese. It has never been my main activity. But nonetheless, I tried to steadily improve my knowledge. Currently, I experiment with a spaced repetition system made out of paper. I used Anki before, but stopped after some data loss. With my 2cm x 4 cm flashcards I learned the complete vocabulary for JLPT N5. Now I am learning the Kanji for those words. At the end of this year, I will take the JLPT N5 in switzerland.

With paper cards, I have more freedom over the intervals used for the spaced repetition system. In my opinion, it does not make sense to continue to learn the same flash card with an interval of more than 7 days. I extended my cards with Kanji after I knew they would remain easily recallable from memory for at least 7 days. The same intervals I used for the flashcards only with words did not work as well for the flashcards with kanji added. I did not know the kanji when I tried to recall them after the assigned interval. So I started to make a learn session twice a day instead of only once while using the same interval growth rate I had by having just one session a day.

Interval growth rates for vocabulary:

I recalled the card the first time -> wait 1 day (wait till the next learn session)
second time -> wait 2 days
3. -> 3 days
4. -> 5 days
5. -> 7 days
6. -> remove from system

I added the flash card again into the system after I had extended it with Kanji. Now I am trying the following system:

2 sessions a day, morning and evening:
1. -> wait 0.5 days
2. -> 1 day
3. -> 1.5 days
4. -> 2.5 days
5. -> 3.5 days
6. -> remove from System