Back

Japanese Language Study Log: Arrakis

Long time lurker (4-5 years I think), just never really posted, or made an account. I used to use the actual RTK bit, but have since been using WaniKani, so, yeah. Kinda half-assed 自己紹介: I'm 22 years old, originally from Oslo (Norway), but have been living in the UK since September 2014, and I'm currently studying Computer Arts in Scotland. Been attempting to learn Japanese for several years, but I never had the discipline/time/resources to do it properly; for the first half of that time in particular I kept moving between different textbooks in order to figure out which one I wanted to use. Caused me to get real good at using です but learnt literally nothing else haha. At one point I kinda said '***** it I'm using Genki,' and made it through both Genki books early last year. Then life happened in June or so (moving, mostly, for like... months), and I only got back to it earlier this year.

I'd like to update this once a week or so, unless not much happened.

'Stats': (I guess I'll update these in new posts whenever reasonable progress has been made)
Current level: N4, but my reading is closer to N3 (I think). In terms of tests, I've only taken the J-CAT, where I got 138 (25 listening, 43 vocabulary, 25 grammar, 45 reading), which I believe puts my non-vocab/reading at low 3級 i.e. low n4, and vocab/reading at below 2級 so somewhere around n3 (pretty sure it's a bit lower though, since I found it easy to guess at the correct answers for the reading section without actually knowing wtf was going on). Assuming I'm interpreting their score interpretation page correctly anyway.