Back

How much difficult is chinese?

Today among the YouTube suggestions there was this about how difficult is the chinese language.
YouTube keeps suggesting these mainstream videos which aim to reach a lot of views with contents like "how it is being fat in china?" or "how to understand if a japanese girl is interested in you".
So I often don't watch them, but I watched this and I was a little perplexed about comments, where people say that the Chinese (Mandarin) language is easier than the French language.

Quote:I started learning Chinese one year ago and to me. (I am a native French speaker) To me, Mandarin Chinese is way easier to learn than French. There are like 23 different tenses in French (though there are a few that we never use.. but still had to learn them). So coming from French, Chinese grammar looks super easy. The hardest thing for me to learn in Chinese is to remember each tone for each character.

Quote:Ha, I'm an English speaker who is learning French and Mandarin, and Mandarin's definitely easier! People are surprised when I say it, but the stupid tenses are usually the first thing I bring up. Still love French, but damn it, I must say the tenses are a pain.

Quote:I'm a native Spanish speaker and I learned English, French and now it's been three months since I started studying Chinese. For me, learning Chinese it's been easier than learning French. At least when it comes to speaking.

Quote:I took a Mandarin class at work, just to see how hard it was. It really did "demystify" it. We have a huge Asian population in Seattle and I think most are Chinese. I wondered about the different "tones" I would hear daily when walking around and why they were used. Studying even a few months really answered a lot of questions. And it really didn't seem any harder than French or German.

Quote:German is very related to English and it's STILL more difficult than Chinese believe me...