Back

Research project: Optimising the Study of Japanese Technical/Topic-Specific Vocab

Hello Koohii – I'm an MSc student of Computer Science at the University of Bristol and for my research project, I've built a system which (hopefully!) helps one learn all the vocabulary for a chosen topic (such as 'economics', 'politics', or even 'Pokémon') in Japanese. I built it to help people learn how to read difficult sections of newspapers, or niche topics which textbooks simply don't cover (like Viking puppetry). I need to evaluate its effectiveness, so I am recruiting Japanese learners to try out the software. If results are good, I may be able to develop it even further, possibly even porting to other languages!

How it works
  • You tell the system what level of Japanese you already understand (for example, JLPT N3). Note: natives are also welcome to try it!
  • You specify your topic of interest, eg. 経済 (economics) – it must, however, be a valid category name on Japanese Wikipedia.
  • The system searches for Wikipedia articles under that category, and any subcategories (recursively), extracting the text and counting all the words beyond your stated proficiency level.
  • It generates a vocabulary list of all the words above your proficiency level, sorted in word frequency order. The list provides straight-from-source example sentences, part-of-speech tagging, JLPT level estimates, and dictionary definitions for all the words.
The technology

It's built upon opensource technologies: the kuromoji tokeniser (which is basically MeCab, due to using the same Viterbi algorithm and using the same 'ipadic' dictionary) and EDRDG's JMDict and JMnedict. JLPT levels of vocabulary is estimated from Jordan Waller's JLPT resources page. If I've missed anything in this quick post, a full description of technologies, access to source, and licensing will be detailed in my thesis (to be submitted on September 15th, and able to be requested as a digital copy thereafter).