Back

Rate of Pay for Freelance translation

Hi everyone,

I've just got offered some freelance Japanese-English translation at the rate of pay of 3 yen/word. I am still a uni student, and have studied Japanese for about 4 years. I have a small amount of experience in translation. The texts are more cultural pieces then technical. I was wondering if this is a reasonable level of pay?
No. The standard is $0.13 USD per word, $0.09 minimum (Search Japanese to English).

If you just want experience/something to put on your resume, then go for it. If you want to be paid fairly, look elsewhere.
Edited: 2014-03-10, 6:27 pm
If translation work is something you actually want to do for a living then I might consider it. When interns in most fields literally pay for the opportunity get work experience, you'll at least be seeing a bit of money in return.
August Sale (14th - 25th): 30% OFF Premium PLUS - 25% OFF Premium
JapanesePod101
How are "words" calculated in Japanese for translation purposes? It will be a while before my Japanese is good enough to start translating, but I'd like to know anyway. For Chinese-English it's generally per character, and I usually make 2.5-3NT per character (8-10 cents US) here in Taiwan, where the average salary is much lower than in Japan.
To quote from the standard text, How to Succeed as a Freelance Translator:

Quote:For character-based languages such as Japanese and Chinese, the word count is most often based on the number of English words regardless of the direction of the translation.
Keep in mind, the author is referring to the online norm, particularly for translators using ProZ and Translatorscafe. The local norms or the demands of individual clients may vary.
3 yen/word is certainly on the low side.