Back

多読 Tadoku Reading Challenge

LukeG Wrote:Though I have no idea how people have hit over 300 points in two days...
You don't have to worry about me, I was horribly ill last weekend Sad Struggled to get a quick NHK article in between my usual reviews and coughing. Also managed to install PSO 2 without referring to an English guide Big Grin
I just realized my reading speed has improved when I got carried away and read half a novel to the end today. I also realized that if I'm going to participate in this competitively I'm going to need to hit up the book store...

Also jealous of people who play the visual novel games since apparently that's where it's at in this Tadoku thing.. :x
I had a friend in uni who loved those but I never could get into them.
yeah, I think most people have something to count the lines with (lordsilent told me about it after I complained about counting screens on the blog, but I'm not tech savvy enough). I did it the old fashioned way... Just kept a piece of white paper under the keyboard and whenever I'd press space I'd draw a line, then counted them at the end. It was... somewhat time-consuming.

I wouldn't be so quick to judge the visual novel people. Each format has its own pros and cons... personally I realized it takes longer to "read" in visual novels, especially if you want to actually enjoy it as opposed to just read the screen obsessively. Reading books gets me the highest page count/time spent ratio, manga comes second, and visual novels third.
Thanksgiving Sale: 30% OFF Basic, Premium & Premium PLUS Subscriptions! (Nov 13 - 22)
JapanesePod101
I can't imagine any reason to be jealous of someone enjoying something you're not interested in, VNs are just LNs with more pictures.
It's a joke. ._. I just noticed people getting a lot of mileage out of games. I'm reading novels because I like novels and this is a good excuse to push myself to read lots of novels.

novels.
Quote:It's a joke. ._.
Oh ._.