favorite pen for writing kanji?

Index » RtK Volume 1

triangleman42

I'm finding that writing the characters is helping me remember them.  None of the standard ball point pens I've tried 'feel right' for writing kanji.  Aside from fancy calligraphy sets, what style/brand/model/size of pen do you like to use?

I just tried out a bunch of different pens at the bookstore on campus and found one that feels better than the rest, but still isn't quite right.  It is a Pilot G2 05 Ultra Fine Point, in case anyone is curious.

Jarvik7

I like using a fudepen (hard tip style), or failing that, a mechanical pencil with 2B lead (anything harder makes writing smoothly harder imo).

JimmySeal

HB wooden pencil, well-sharpened.

Advertising (register and sign in to hide this)
JapanesePod101
Sponsor

Mighty_Matt
Website

I remember things not feeling right when I started learning the kanji.  I also tried to use nice pens instead of any old, scratchy ballpen.  But, I think it might actually be more of a case of just not being used to writing in Japanese.  The muscles in your hand/arm are having to learn to move in different ways too.
Since I finished RTK and started doing sentences (AJATT method) my handwriting has become better.  I'm still using the same type of pen as before, but writing several pages of Japanese a day is obviously having some effect.  It is most noticeable in my hiragana as those are written more frequently, but the kanji are also 'flowing' a bit better now.

ruisu
Website

I like the Pilot VBall Grip (0.5mm). It has a rubber grip and marks are small. I was using a hexagon shaped pen with a ball point, and the biggest problem was that the shape of it gave my finger a callous from writing all those kanji. I agree though that writing kanji out is a great reinforcer. I incorporated it in to each review step:

1. I have a notebook for writing down each Kanji and a story if I can come up with one as I go along from the book.