After Hiragana, Katakana or extended reading practice ?

Index » The Japanese language

Reply #1 - 2011 July 01, 8:04 am
Bouazza

こんにちわ !

I just started learning Japanese 2 days ago using Tae Kim's guide. I did 1h/day SRSing ( Anki ) to memorize the hiragana, and after 2 days I finally memorized them all. I solved the Hiragana exercises in Tae Kim's guide quickly, and it seems that the next step in the guide is Katakana.

But, am I the only one who thinks it's too early ? Don't you think that I still have to practice hiragana reading before learning a new character set ?

I thought about trying to read some short Hiragana novels, but maybe my lack of vocabulary ( I know only about 10 words now lol ) and grammar ( I didn't even start it yet ) will only frustrate me when trying to do so ?

What would you advise me ?

ありがとう !

Reply #2 - 2011 July 01, 8:07 am
wccrawford

Katakana.  You'll lose all the loan words, and all words that are stressed, if you don't have it.

Reply #3 - 2011 July 01, 8:21 am
thecite

Have you gone through RTK1? That's a pretty good first step.

Advertising (register and sign in to hide this)
JapanesePod101
Sponsor

Reply #4 - 2011 July 01, 8:22 am
Bouazza

Never said that I would skip Katakana wink My question was if it is better to do intense hiragana reading practice ( if yes, where ? does someone know of some easy novels in hiragana ? ) before learning Katakana, or learning it right away.

Reply #5 - 2011 July 01, 8:24 am
Bouazza

@thecite : sorry, didn't see your message. I don't know much about RTK, but it is for Kanji, no ?

( maybe I sound noobish but it's only 2 days since I started learning Japanese ^_^ )

Reply #6 - 2011 July 01, 8:29 am
Superfreek

The more your in the language the more it will be reinforced.  Just keep studying everyday.  In a month or two it will be second nature.

Reply #7 - 2011 July 01, 8:34 am
thecite