Back

The "What's this word/phrase?" thread

I just have a really simple question about a word I can't find in the dictionary. Since it feels like a bit of a waste to make a new thread just for this, maybe it would be a good idea for this to be an ongoing thread where anyone can get help for the words and phrases that they are having a problem with.

So I'll start it off.
From the manga よつばと, a character used the word 「うす」. I can tell from the context that its a greeting, and probably pretty casual. Where does this word come from? Is it some sort of recent slang, or some particular dialect? Maybe a contraction of something?
おす is a sort of cool, male greeting. うす sounds like a close relative. It's like when you acknowledge someone with a friendly grunt.
I'm a Noob...got this from a book (slang book), so I may be off and someone can correct this if it's wrong.

Like Future Blues says, maybe a version of[kana] おっす[/kana]

[kana]おっす[/kana] was originally a very formal word like a soldier saying "yes sir!". I notice the Yakuza foot soldiers using it fiercely(and bowing) when the Big Bosses show up in the movie "Brother". In a slang context it is kind of goofing on the original use. The book translated it as "what's up"....
Some variations-(think of a Japanese version of the old Budwieser commercials, with two friends going back and forth)

[kana]おっす[/kana] -Whattup!

[kana]うっす[/kana] -'Sup

[kana]ういっすー[/kana] -Whazzap!

[kana]ういっすっす[/kana] -Whazzzaaaaap!!!

Obviously the translations aren't literal or anything....but you get the idea.

The book is "Dirty Japanese" by Matt Fargo. Really funny little book!
Edited: 2009-06-09, 1:51 am
JapanesePod101
Haha, now that I have pictured a Japanese budweiser commercial I will never forget this :p
おっす was discussed in a topic here very recently. I think it was claimed that it's originally from 空手.
Next word: しばらく