Back

Struggling with my Minna no Nihongo Chuukyuu II

Hi there!

I used to study with the Minna no Nihongo Chuukyuu I last year, so I took the second one to finish the serie. But so far I'm not really happy with it... I used to read a lot because I like book and stuff, so the reading part seems a little bit too easy. But the listening part is really difficult for me. As I am still a student (but I study Japanese alone in France), I'm not really familiar with the bussiness thing, and it is really confusing for me to listen japanese in a job context. I'm sure I should really work on that listening part. But I really don't like these audio tracks, and when I'm struggling at the 3rd listening to understand the main point I'm really really frustrated. I don't think it is really healthy.

I was wondering if switching of method of learning could be a solution. As I was thinking to take the JLPT 2 in December, the Kanzen Master series could be a solution. But maybe they are a little bit too text axed? (like with some obscure stuff we don't really see when reading/ listening). For my level, I'm nearly sure I already have more that I'm roughly between a N3-N2 level (with a little advance in kanji). I can understand easily most of easy everyday japanese (like Love Live without subs or some not-very complicated japanese as in some japanese TV-games I saw on Youtube). But more fast flowing and without pictures/ formal japanese is still very very tricky for me, and sometimes I have to repeat 3-4 times and I still don't get the essential point. For the reading part I can read without much trouble simple books (Like the Ojamajo Doremi LN or a book where someone tells his everyday life in travel for example), I think I know how to recognize about 900-1,000 kanjis.