Back

Help programming with EPWING files

I'm an amateur programmer trying to figure out how to search through EPWING dictionary files. I did some searching in the source code of some projects that have EPWING support and found out about eplkup which sounds really useful, but I can't get it to work. It looks like eplkup v1.5 is in the source code for Rikaisama (https://sourceforge.net/projects/rikaisama/files/), but I try to run like "eplkup --help" and nothing happens. Other versions give me an error saying unsupported 16 bit application. Can anyone help me get it working or any other help using EPWING files?
Check "yomichan", it is like Rikaisama but for Chrome.
It cames with a tool called "yomichan import", which is used to import dictionaries (such as the EPWING ones) inside a database.
So that when you use yomichan, it will check inside the database, and not inside the original EPWING.

What you may find interesting is how the importing tool works: for the EPWING dictionaries it uses a third party tool called "zero-epwing", which export the messy EPWING format into a more readable one, called "JSON".

What I did when I wrote an EPWING tool was:

1) I exported the EPWING dictionary into JSON format with zero-epwing;
2) I used a C# library to read the JSON format and import its content inside a SQLite database;

This is easy, the real work is when you import the dictionary content inside the db, because each EPWING dictionary has its way to represent entries, with all sorts of strange symbols, separators and so on and, in order to make the db content easily searchable, you need to translate it into a simple "word + reading + definition".

Hope this helps because at the time I didn't find any help and I spent days trying to figure how to do it ._.

PS: if you look at the yomichan source code you will see that the db import requires a lot of regular expressions in order to create clean entries inside the db.
Edited: 2017-04-18, 8:06 am