Back

Anki with sentences

I've been seriously studying Japanese for ~7 months now, and I recently learned that I've been inefficiently using Anki this entire time. Humans retain words much better within context than on an isolated vocab list. I'd like to make the switch, but how should I design the card? Should the sentence be on the front with the target word blanked out, and have the back say the word?

e.g. 今朝、7時30に起きて、自転車で学校に行きなきゃいけなかったので、歯を______
and have the back say "磨けなかった"

Is that example sentence too long? I'm new to the sentence thing, so sorry for the novice question.
Edited: 2017-04-17, 6:13 pm
Go to the wiki and look at the core 10k optimized for rtk. I really like the way it's setup. The only thing I added was a text box to type the answers in.
For my sentence cards, I simply have the Japanese sentence on the front with and the english translation on the back. I simply need to understand the sentence for a pass.

Other people like to call out the target word by bolding it or repeating above or below the sentence. In that case, you read the sentence and the answer would be the definition of the target word.
Edited: 2017-04-17, 6:21 pm
May 15 - 26: Pretty Big Deal: Get 31% OFF Premium & Premium PLUS! CLICK HERE
JapanesePod101
(2017-04-17, 6:14 pm)theadamie Wrote: Go to the wiki and look at the core 10k optimized for rtk.  I really like the way it's setup.  The only thing I added was a text box to type the answers in.

I hear the core 2/6/10k decks are good, but I'm trying to optimize this for Genki II.
(2017-04-17, 6:12 pm)weab00 Wrote: I've been seriously studying Japanese for ~7 months now, and I recently learned that I've been inefficiently using Anki this entire time. Humans retain words much better within context than on an isolated vocab list. I'd like to make the switch, but how should I design the card? Should the sentence be on the front with the target word blanked out, and have the back say the word?