Back

Tuttle Kanji vs. Kodansha KLC vs. Others: Which is the Best of the Heisig Offspring?

I'm an upper beginner living in Japan, aiming at N3 proficiency within the next year and a half and am trying to figure out the best way to tackle Kanji for my needs. I will be leaving after that so my only concern is getting to N3. We all know RTK and the pros and cons of it have been discussed in length elsewhere. I have been interested in the merits of one of the more recent resources that take inspiration from Heisig and "improve" upon it. So far the major players seem to be:

Books

Grant's Tuttle Learning Japanese Kanji

Conning's Kodansha Kanji Learner's Course

Online/Apps

KanjiDamage

WaniKani

I found myself gravitating towards the books. After lots of research I was all ready to buy Kodansha KLC and the workbook when I stumbled upon the Tuttle book and am now unsure again. Seems to me that Grant's Tuttle Kanji course benefits from frequency order, vocab, and example sentences. The mnemonics, illustrations and explanations seem solid based on first glance. I also like the space to write characters and sentences in the book. Sure, it is only 520 Kanji but since I'm living in Japan and am aiming for N3 only, the frequency order makes it seem like the book would provide me with the most immediate benefits out of all of them. However, I don't see many community-supported resources on the web such as Memrise or Anki decks which is a big drawback. Also, after learning the 520 Kanji, it could perhaps pose a problem when I progress to N3 Kanji if I move to another book such as Kodansha KLC; if later Kanji in Kodansha are built on a different radical and mnemonic system that refers to what was learned previously, I would have to re-learn those mnemonics. I don't know if that is true and how hard that would be so others can fill in here.