Back

Has anyone here tried Latin

Hi guys, I was wondering if anyone here in these forums have tried to study Latin before, this is something I always wanted to do since I was a kid, much like studying Japanese. Now it's my last semester in college and I'll have the opportunity to finally do it, I plan to do the semester following the class and the professor's instructions them proceed on my own, this shouldn't be too hard at this moment as I'm currently taking a break of studying Japanese(was worn out), I'm just practicing kanji. I really don't need any advice for resources as I already know most of the top notch (although if you have something you would like to share please do!), what I'm really looking for is your opinions regarding this subject of learning Latin, what do you think of it,have you ever done, would you ever do it in the future?
I studied Latin for four years. If you want to dabble, of course go ahead and enjoy life! If your dream is to become "fluent" in it, I'd suggest you give it some serious thought before you get trapped into the time-suck of serious language learning.

Like Japanese, you better find a reason to like it. For example ancient poetry, ancient Roman records, documents about Catholicism, college dissertations from about 1200 AD to about 1830 AD, etc. If none of that sounds interesting, be careful about choosing this language!

One thing that can be frustrating about learning a dead language is that there aren't many markers that show you when you've made progress. Okay, you've memorized all of these verbs and their conjugations but you don't have a conversation partner to try them out on. Instead you only have more poetry and more words that you don't know.