Back

My little 2017 lower intermediate thread

@sumsum
What does the 狐 say?
コンコン, apparently. Can't say I've ever heard a fox bark like that before... Of course, I can't say I've heard one say 'bark' either...
Edited: 2017-01-06, 5:03 pm
Finally getting to the point I'm caught up with reviews again. Whoo! Which means I should be adding new stuff soon. Eventually.
It's been an interesting little run for me with Japanese lately.

I just had my 2nd lesson with my teacher. It was great, but humbling. Basically, I've come to realize that there's LOTS of different way to talk about work. The high level, 1 sentence is stuff is easy. But man, once he asks a few questions, it can get hard fast.

I think that having a lesson every other week is a good pace for me. But the next lesson I'll go from 30 to 60 minutes.

Next Friday I have a bilingual toastmasters meeting. I'm doing the "Word of the Day" role, and I'll be giving a short prepared speech on the word 専門用語.

I've found that my anki reviews haven't been going down as quickly as I'd like. I'm still aiming for no more than 100 reviews a day, but even with only adding 2 new cards a day, I still have some days where it's well over 100. Though it looks like tomorrow it will be below 100 again.

I've been doing a lot of reading, which I'm told is very good for me Big Grin

Though I have to say that I find myself oftentimes wanting to add more than 1 word to anki a day, which means that the number of unseen cards has the potential to balloon, which is something I'm trying hard to avoid!
May 15 - 26: Pretty Big Deal: Get 31% OFF Premium & Premium PLUS! CLICK HERE
JapanesePod101
(2017-01-08, 4:02 pm)ariariari Wrote: Next Friday I have a bilingual toastmasters meeting.
That sounds like a wonderful resource especially since you are tuning up for public speech later this year. Is it strictly English/Japanese? ...or other languages mixed in? I should search out something like this in my city.