Back

JLPT N4 - Furigana on Exam

Hi,

I have a question with regards to the use of Furigana during the JLPT exam (I will be writing the N4 exam on Sunday), specifically for vocabulary words which are made up of several kanji characters.

For the vocabulary words (out of the ~1,500 required for the N4) that are made up of a number of kanji that we should know (out of the ~300), will there be furigana on top of those during the exam?

If not, does that mean that when I am studying the ~1,500 vocabulary words, that I would need to cross-check every single kanji used to check if all the kanji included in each word are part of the N4/N5 kanji lists?

As a further example, let's say one vocabulary word in the N4 curriculum is formed of 3 different kanji characters (2 included in the N4 or N5, and 1 included in the N3). I am therefore assuming that during the N4 exam, there will be full furigana on this vocabulary word (since I am not expected to know that N3 kanji character). But what about if I write the N3 exam next year and now I need to know that last Kanji character...do I need to back to the N4 & N5 vocabulary lists and cross-check, so that I would need to identify that N4 word and newly learn the kanji sequence?

Hope that my question is clear.

Many thanks to all,

D
I believe that if you are not expected to know a kanji, then they simply write that part of the word in hiragana rather than using a kanji that you don't know + furigana.

As far as I know there are no official lists of kanji or vocab. So wherever you are getting your vocab from ought to use the correct kanji for the test, if the list is intended to be used for studying jlpt.
Edited: 2016-11-28, 4:52 pm
Thanks Zar.

My problem is that I have focused on the kanji used alone...

Even for something simple like sensei from the N5, I have not up until now paid much attention to Kanji compounds....argh, a few days left to go to cross-check the 1,500 vocab words...