Back

My trip to Osaka

Welcome to this forum topic, my name is Martin, and one year ago I started learning Japanese by learning kanji first (the forum topic about that: http://forum.koohii.com/thread-12816.html), and now, one year later, I'm going to Osaka for five weeks as an exchange student. And I've decided to write here about my experiences.

Tomorrow will be the day of my departure. I'm going with two other Dutch exchange students to Tokyo (yep, I'm from the Netherlands), and from there I'll go to Osaka on my own.

Unlike my two very concerned parents, I'm someone who doesn't really stress until the thing you're supposed to stress about is happening. So until tomorrow I'll probably have no problems controlling my stress, but when I board the plane, I'll be stressing a lot.

I've failed to learn a lot of Kansai-ben, which is the dialect of Osaka, but I hope it's okay if I speak in the little bit of standard dialect I've mastered by now. Since the other two exchange students just started learning basic sentences (or maybe not even that), I should be relatively alright.

Well, this was my first post. I don't know how much I'll write or how long my posts will be, I'll just write when I'm feeling like it. Thank you for reading this, and goodnight~
Have fun! This sound like an amazing experience. I remember being with a host family twice in France and it really was a great time. If you are staying with a local family your Japanese will grow in leaps and bounds for sure.

Look forward to reading your experiences.
Edited: 2016-07-03, 5:04 pm