Back

Exploring Job Options in Japan

Hey guys, thinking about my options for Japan as always. That's pretty broad so let me narrow it down. I graduated March 2014, began my current job August 2014, and have been working here for nearly a year and a half. It's a start-up that's moving really fast. The possibility of expanding to Japan can be a reality, and all of my bosses know I want to be there; however, their primary focus is not on APAC.

I very much like my current company, but I'm also getting restless and feel at some point I need to take the risk and pursue my dream. I would like to give it until Fall 2016 to see where we're at. In the meantime I will plan a vacation to Japan and try to incorporate work in the hopes I can enjoy a longer time there while combining it with my break. I may use this time to speak with some Japanese contacts I made at a trade show back in September. They're in the same industry and it could lead to some possible opportunities.

My immediate question is regarding the flow of hiring. I'm aware seniors in college have certain blocks during which they interview and so forth. As a foreigner exploring my options there, am I limited to specific months or seasons? Are there times which, if my company is not getting me where I wanna be, it's best to begin sending out applications? More importantly, what are the best go-to sites to develop my Japanese CV?

Taking the N1 next week and hoping for a pass, it'll increase my options. My other option is to start selling my company on the idea of Japan. This would require research on my part and building value for us to expand there. Not sure how to do this though.
I'm probably not the best person to ask about actually *landing* a job in Japan, but I took some interviews over the summer and researched quite a bit. I won't be graduating until next fall semester so it's all a bit early, but it's at least nice to know what I'm getting into and prepare myself for next year.